Supernova

Sitting under the starlight
Blocking out all the noise
I close my eyes and see your face
I wrap my arms around you
I hold you so close
Trying to remind myself that you’re still here
Trying to remind you that I’m still here

We lost a star last night
Now that star’s in the sky
Though I didn’t really know him
I’m still asking why
Got another dose of doubt
When I didn’t hear from you
I’ve just got to let it go
And to myself be true

There is goodness all around me
To fill this hole I still feel
This is something I must learn
I watch my angel sleep
So warm in her bed
I want to give her all the love I have
Want to give you all the love I have

We lost a star last night
Now that star’s in the sky
Though I didn’t really know him
I’m still asking why
I think of how I’m feeling
Wonder if you’re feeling the same
Wonder if you can still hear me
When I’m calling your name

So great, so grand and powerful
Could no longer take the pressure
Collapsing beneath the weight of it all
Blew up in a spectacular way that all the world could see
Sending currents and vibrations all around me

We lost a star last night
Now a Black Star in the sky
Though I didn’t really know him
I’m still asking why
Close my eyes a little while
And again I see your face
This world is such a big, small
Frighteningly marvelous, wonderful place

Leave a Reply

