Where Has the Music Gone?

[Written August 2014]

I used to feel it all around me
And on the inside
That thing that made me feel alive
Now it’s gone
Where did it go?
When did it leave me?

Did you lose it too?
I haven’t heard a song from you
Since that last day we heard the music

It was like angels hovering above us
And everything around us
Felt like we were coming home
But then I looked around
To find I’m still on the ground
And I’m still on my own
Where has the music gone?

It began to fade away
Long before that day
But I kept a listening ear
And I could still hear
But what did you say?
What did you tell me?

Why did you stop listening
And tell me it was all just in my head?
Now I fear the music’s dead

It was like angels hovering above us
But now they’re not among us
Since you told me those lies
And now I look around
Seems like I’m halfway underground
And I haven’t heard a song
Where has the music gone?

It was the only lifeline
The thing that told me I was fine
But now it’s nowhere to be heard
Now the life inside of me
Isn’t as it used to be
Not since that last day
How am I supposed to live this way?

Leave a Reply

