Appreciation Day

Complain, complain, complain. That’s all I used to do. All of my old journals are chock-full of woe is me sob stories that I wrote to myself. What a waste of energy. And here I was thinking that I was doing just fine. How could I be so blind? Quite often, I see and hear people preach that being thankful for what you have in life will get you a lot farther than complaining about difficulties, inconveniences or what you don’t have. Chances are, if you are complaining, you actually have a lot more than you think you do. And for some reason, I am just now, at the age of twenty-seven, actually learning this lesson. But the truth is, I think, a lot of people in our society have yet to learn — and master — this virtue, so perhaps I should be thankful for the lesson itself.

This mastery is a current goal of mine. I have learned that every bit of good in my life was given to me in some way or another. Yes, of course I have worked for basically everything that I have, but I believe there is also some degree of luck that plays into it. Left and right, I see good people who work hard, ask for very little and in return, life deals them a shit hand time and time again. And here I am, dumbfounded by this observation. How do I get so lucky sometimes? Granted, life for me is no cakewalk; I’ve been given my fair share of difficulties, just like everyone else. But my bad days pale in comparison to those of so many others in the world, some of whom just can’t ever catch a break. So…what was I complaining about again?

Yes, the old adage, “count your blessings,” is a wise one indeed. Since I’ve been taking more time out of my days to thank my spirit guide, my angels, the Ascended Masters, God, the universe, — what/whoever you want to call it, which has chosen to smile on me with such good fortune — life has suddenly become easier to deal with. A few losses and setbacks have occurred recently, it’s true, but I’ve managed to accept these situations as they are. Some things are just completely out of our control, and that’s just fine. I finally see that the good vastly outweighs the bad and in the end, everything is going to be okay.

For too long, I wasted my days dwelling in self-loathing and pity, wishing that things would change and get easier. I was completely missing the big picture. Perhaps if I hadn’t become so jaded and had still been able to see all of the beauty surrounding me, I would have reached my great epiphany sooner. I can’t have regrets about any of it, though. For whatever reason, the process just took that long for me, and at this point, I’m just happy that I have finally arrived at this place. I really struggled for years to get here. I may have had difficulty in seeing that I needed to try harder, but I was somewhat trying nonetheless and I eventually figured it out. Not to mention, had I made my discovery sooner, I would probably be missing out on some of the good things life has given me on this quest.

I chose my own path, and it led me to many wonderful things, the greatest being my beautiful baby girl who continues to bless my life every day. Thanks to her, not a day goes by that I don’t have a good laugh, that I don’t grin ear to ear and my heart doesn’t absolutely burst with love. In fact, she just may be the whole reason I am finally here. She has been the greatest gift ever given to me. Every day, she challenges me to be stronger, to work harder and be the best version of myself possible. Every day, she makes me feel the greatest power of all, unconditional love. She is exactly what I needed and I believe that she chose me for a reason. It’s somewhat hard to believe that my darling little cherub turned 9 months old today. Every milestone is just another reminder to savor each and every precious moment with her, because they come and go so quickly and she will never again be as tiny and innocent as she is today. Thank you, my beautiful Astrid, for showing me what life is all about. You are my greatest blessing.

Obviously, things in my life are certainly not perfect, but why would they be? I wouldn’t even want it that way. I’ve always thrived on a good challenge. Life would be so boring without them. In my new, sunnier viewpoint, the aim is to not only accept the challenges and setbacks, but welcome them with open arms and a smile. If there is anything I’ve learned at all recently, it’s that my problems are simply shaping me into the person I want to be, the person I always knew I could be. With each and every challenge, I grow in so many ways. With each lesson, I become more powerful, more wise, more compassionate and more empathetic. With all of these strengths comes love of oneself. So today, I am nothing but grateful for every obstacle I have ever encountered, even at my lowest. I don’t think I would have ever gotten this high if I hadn’t hit bottom first. From here, there is nowhere to go but up.

Leave a Reply

